Roasted Garbanzo Beans

Garbanzo beans are my favorite legumes- I like them mashed into hummus, fried into falafel, and lightly dressed with oil and vinegar. I tried fried garbanzo beans earlier this year at Levant and was smitten at first bite. Alas, I hate frying food so I’ve been on the hunt for an alternative.

I found a recipe on Chow.com for Spicy Oven Roasted Garbanzo Beans that I tested the first timeI made these. The chickpeas didn’t get as crunchy as I wanted so I had to stick them back in the oven. I used too much oil the first time and that didn’t help the sogginess. The flavor was great so I kept at it. I finally achieved success!

I’m not good with giving exact instructions but here’s roughly what I do:

Oven: 400 degrees F
1 can garbanzo beans- drain, rinse, and pat very dry
Scant tablespoon of olive oil
Spices- you can use cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, or whatever you like

Mix the very dry garbanzos with the oil and spices until the beans are well coated. Put them on a cookie sheet and stick them in the oven, checking on them after 25 minutes. Shake the pan periodically so they don’t get too brown on one side. You might need to cook them up to 50 minutes or so depending on your oven.

Best to let them cool completely before storing in a container. Once they loose their crunchiness they’re very tasty added to salads or stir fries.

What’s your favorite bean/ legume recipe?

IMG_0228-0.JPG

I love to hear your comments!

