C.M.S. Red by Hedges

Young women in a bar. Paris, 1937-1938. © Gaston Paris / Roger-Viollet. Photo ParisEnImages

Young women in a bar. Paris, 1937-1938.
© Gaston Paris / Roger-Viollet. Photo ParisEnImages

I really enjoy drinking wines from the Pacific Northwest but many of them are above my budget except for very special occasions. I was pleased that CMS Red from the Hedges Family Estate is an exception – it’s very good and I found it for less than $15.

Winw

Color: Deep inky purple
Aroma: cinnamon, spice, plum
Grapes: CMS stands for cabernet sauvignon, merlot, and syrah
Taste: Fairly robust taste with some tannins. It has a medium finish and is what I consider “balanced” between acidic and tannic. I would drink this with a hamburger, macaroni and cheese, or a hearty pork dish. I ate it with a sharp Vermont cheddar, which was great. I’ll definitely buy this again, particularly when I have out of town guests.

I love to hear your comments!

