Moulin de Gassac Aniane – Guilhem Rosé

pinkwine

Pink wines on display at Nicolas

Drinking pink wine on a hot day is one of my summer pleasures. I love the color, and I enjoy a crisp wine with typically lighter fare of summer. Unfortunately there are some really sweet roses on the market that I really don’t like. (Beringer white zinfandel, for example.)

I was browsing the wine section at Pastaworks the other day and found this rosé from the Languedoc region in southern France and decided to give it a try. I’m so glad I did – it’s one of the best roses I’ve had this year.
pink

Color: Very pale salmon
Aroma: Citrus and green apple
Grapes:Blend of 40% Grenache, 40% Carignan, 20% Syrah
Taste: crisp, acidic with a bit of minerality. The finish was shortish to medium.
Appellation: IGP Pays d’Hérault.

I like this wine because it’s crisp and drinkable, and could be a refreshing apertif or sipped with a meal. I wouldn’t suggest drinking it with a vinegary salad because it’d would just make the salad and the wine too acidic.

According to the winery’s website, the vineyard was founded by Charlemagne’s advisor, Saint Benedict of Aniane. It’s possible that he introduced Charlemagne to some of the Gassac valley’s early wines.

Do you have any special drink or food you only have in the summer?

I love to hear your comments!

