Background Story

I’ve been experimenting with taking photographs of old objects with different kinds of backgrounds to see if they help highlight the objects or distract from it. My favorite is the gold and black purse with a black and white advertisement for Byrrh.

Art Deco mesh bag

I like this combination of a black and white advert from a 1930s magazine and the Art Deco purse.

Untitled

I used a random page from on old magazine for the background of the compact and powder puff.

Art Deco dress clip

The plain white background works fine.

Art Deco dress clip

I think this is pretty with the purple scarf background but if I were selling the piece, maybe I’d stick with the plain white background.

Rhinestone bracelet

It was sunny and just too bright outside; not sure if I like this background.

French steel cut shoe buckles

The black textured background just looks bad though I think a matte black background would show off the steel cut beads nicely.

Art deco blue glass sautoir

I like how the blue glass shows up but I might try it with grey for more contrast.

I love to hear your comments!

