Happy Birthday, Marcello!

Marcello Mastroianni in Marriage-Italian Style, 1964. Photographer: Alfred Eisenstaedt; courtesy Google/Life Magazine.

Marcello Mastroianni was a wonderful actor in post-war Italian films including La Dolce Vita, Marriage Italian Style, Big Deal on Madonna Street, and La Notte Bianche. The New York Times writes that he’s one of the most popular international stars in movie history – he was nominated for three Oscars and won two awards for best actor at Cannes and worked in 120 films.

If I could go back to college just for fun, I’d take as many classes as I could on Italian and French cinema. Since that’s not an option at the moment, I’ve found a few books that I’ll read and then review in upcoming posts.

Beyond the Latin Lover: Marcello Mastroianni, Masculinity, and Italian Cinema, by Jaqueline Reich, examines the changes in the Italian definition of masculinity exemplified by the very different roles Marcello played in his career: Latin lover, cuckhold, homosexual, and elderly man.

Mira Liehm wrote Passion and Defiance: Film in Italy from 1942 to the Present; published in 1984, I’ve dipped into this scholarly book a few times but I really need to read it.

What are your favorite Italian films? Have you seen La Dolce Vita? (It’s one of my top 5 favorite films.)

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Marcello!

  1. I must admit I don’t love much “La dolce vita”, my favourite films with Mastroianni are Divorce Italian Style, Yestarday today and tomorrow, Marriage Italian style and A special day (hope the English titles are correct), while my favourite Fellini’s film is Le notti di Cabiria. I love De Sica’s films (also those in which he just acted) and also old Totò’s commedies (but I really don’t know if they are known outside Italy).

I love to hear your comments!

