Portland Farmers Market

One of the best things in Portland are the amazing farmers markets full of fresh produce and other interesting goodies. I like to go to the Wednesday market at Shemanski Park downtown; it makes a perfect quick escape from the office and isn’t as overwhelming as the Saturday one at PSU.

Dandelions
Dandelions for dinner? I’ve never eaten them because I don’t like bitter greens but I’d be able to grow and harvest my own pretty easily.

Farmers market haul
This was a fun visit. I bought one perfect black truffle for an omelet, some lacinato kale, and a French tarragon plant. There are a handful of prepared food places at the market, and one of my favorites is the Tart Lady. This particular tart had asparagus, a little bit of bacon, and Gorgonzola cheese.

What’s your best ever farmers market find? Are you a purist – only fruits and vegs -or do you like the other things – lavender bouquets, prepared foods, local wines. I like it all!

One thought on “Portland Farmers Market

I love to hear your comments!

