Italian Cinema – I Vitelloni

Watching old foreign films is one of my favorite pastimes and over the past few years I’ve been trying to catch up on all those I missed.

Federico Fellini’s 1953 film, I Vitelloni, is one of my favorite films. Set in a small beach town in post-war Italy, it follows the lives of five young men who are a bit adrift, trying to figure out what to do with their lives. I think of this as the original Slacker movie – unmotivated guys of a certain age who’d rather not get, nor keep, a job. They drink, seduce women, and enjoy their idle life.

The movie has some really funny scenes, including a wild costume party, a snotty teenager getting his richly deserved comeuppance, a mama’s boy who admonishes his sister not to make their mama cry, and an old school Italian papa berating his wayward son.

This is one of the few movies I actually own. You can see a trailer at the Criterion Collection.

One thought on “Italian Cinema – I Vitelloni

I love to hear your comments!

