Reptilian Rhapsody

My friend Colleen’s sister read my post about their father’s beautiful crocodile attache case and realized how much I appreciate old vintage treasures. She surprised me by sending me a lovely lizard bag and a beaded evening purse from her collection. I was so touched!

The Classic Lizard Bag

Molly sent me this lovely lizard handbag made by Palizzio, Very New York. I believe it was made in the 1950s or 1960s – very Mad Men. It’s a classic handbag with a brass clasp and hardware, and a cream colored lining with the company name stamped inside. The warm cognac color is darker than my photos but I couldn’t quite get the texture AND color just right in the same picture. I can’t wait to use it!

Vintage Palizzio Very New York handbag

Detail of Vintage Handbag

The Barrel Bag

I found this bag at Xtabay Vintage. The thing that attracted me to this handbag was its shape, first of all, and the texture of the lizard skin. The barrel shape and brass fittings are unusual, and seems quintessentially 1950s glamour. It actually had a little plastic calendar in it dated 1959. I imagine this had been hidden away in someone’s closet for many years.

The inside of the bag is lined in leather, and has three little pockets inside, with the original mirror tucked in one, and a comb in another. It’d be a perfect make-up bag if I traveled that way.
Vintage reptile handbag
Lucky me – I have wonderful friends in my life! Thank you Molly and Colleen!

I love to hear your comments!

