Purple Redux

Purple Tulips

Purple Tulips by JodiGrundig, on Flickr.


My favorite color as a child was purple – deep purple, lavender, medium purple, violet -it didn’t matter; I liked every shade. I even wrote a little ode to purple, the words of which escape except the first two lines, “Purple are the beets I eat, Purple are slippers on my feet.” But at some point I started to gravitate to other colors – browns, reds, oranges, and with clothing, my ubiquitous black. I’ve recently starting wearing purple again, and wonder why I ignored such a great color for so long?

Jeanne Lanvin gown and cape circa 1935.Given by Mrs I L Martin and worn by Mrs L E Poulter; Victoria and Albert Museum Collection.

Amethyst necklace from the Smithsonian Institute's collection.

Purple slippers circa 1865-1885 by E.D. Burt & Co. Fine Shoes. Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Gift of the Brooklyn Museum, 2009; Gift of Beulah Stevenson, 1958.

I love to hear your comments!

