Memories of Italy

When I turned 40, I’d never been to Europe. I decided that it was time, and started formulating a plan. I wanted to go somewhere warm where I really liked the food and where it was warm – I was thinking of Italy, Spain, and Portugal. As it happened, I saw a flyer from our local community college that listed a two week language school in Florence that could offer homestays. I attended a short seminar, and really liked the people involved and the price. I arranged for a month off from work, and off I went. Here is a photo montage of the sights. This chilly Portland weather makes me yearn for a sunnier climate, and Italy would certainly do.

Lake Como
Lake Como

Green door with rust
Green door with rust

Venetian window display of marzipan fruit
Venetian window display of marzipan

Terra cotta roof tiles in Cortona
Terra cotta roof tiles in Cortona

Looking out the hostel window in Levanto
Looking out the hostel window

Cavallo castagne (horse chestnuts)
November

Church tower
Como or Bellagio? Church in Italy

Canal in Murano
Canal in Venice (Murano)

I love to hear your comments!

