Bonne année et bonne santé!

Charlie Chaplin and Sophia Loren ©1966 Life Magazine

I love the beginning of a New Year to start afresh, and to reflect on what I’d like to accomplish in the next year. The word “resolution” is just too loaded; to me it connotes something grim or determined. I prefer to have goals that I’d like to meet, and that I can change if I want. Of course, I have the usual goals of getting in shape, eating more healthfully, buying less “stuff,” and buying locally, blah blah blah, but really, for the New Year I like to focus on new actions that might improve my life and bring me joy.

  • Stay more connected with the people in my life.
  • Go on more hikes with my husband. I feel much more centered when I’ve been in the  woods and exercised a bit.
  • Learn 10 new French words a day.
  • Make pasta at home with my hand-crank pasta maker a few times this year.
  • Entertain friends at home.
  • Write blog posts regularly.
  • Watch more foreign films.
  • Learn more about wine.

Do you have any resolutions or goals? Do you reach them? Are you stressed if you don’t, or do you just let it go?

2 thoughts on “Bonne année et bonne santé!

I love to hear your comments!

