New spectacles!

One of those annoying little things about aging is that one’s eyesight gets worse. I never had to wear glasses until my forties but these days, I can’t read a book or see the text on my computer screen without wearing my glasses. Luckily, I love accessories so it’s not too terrible to have to wear specs. I’d planned to buy red frames, or some with cool rhinestones but ended up buying something completely different.

The first part of the process was to find a new opthamologist. Last time I had my eyes checked, I went to an opthamology school, but having my eyes poked and prodded by a student was a tedious process. Before that, I’d seen a doctor at Golden Optical who was nice but his staff was terribly rude, condescending, impatient, and aggressive. Obviously I wasn’t going to spend one more dime there.

Luck was with me – I went to Uptown Eyecare and thoroughly recommend them. Dr. Zuzana Friberg is friendly, knowledgeable, and thoroughly explains everything. She has a model eyeball she uses a to illustrate how the eyeball works. The fun part was picking out new frames. They have a nice selection of brands, mostly European, local, and/or kind of funky. The prices were reasonable but not cheap. No Gucci or Francis Klein, not that I would pay that much for glasses.

For my everyday specs, I tried on numerous pairs but decided on these retro looking  cat’s-eye glasses with tortoiseshell on the upper half of the frame. They’re from Lafont, a Parisian company that’s been around for 80 years. I think they’re kind of librarianish, in a good way!

Sue in her new glasses

Photo © 2011 Todd Mecklem

I also got prescription sunglasses. These fun frames were on the sale shelf hidden in the back. I love the color and the design. They’re made in the U.S. but the brand is called ooh-la-la de Paris. Now I just need a sunny day to try them out.

Sue in her new sunglasses

Photo © 2011 Todd Mecklem

One thought on “New spectacles!

I love to hear your comments!

