2009 Black Label Diamond Collection Francis Coppola Claret

My sweet husband gave me a bottle of Francis Coppola claret for our anniversary. I’ve seen the term used most often to describe red wine in stories by English authors; it generally refers to a bordeaux but this wine is from California.

The wine was a deep, inky purple; very opaque. The aroma was like a subtle perfume – orange blossoms and ripe bananas are what I percieved. I enjoyed sniffing it more than I do most wines because the fragrance was wonderful yet subtle.

I took my first taste after it’d only been out of the bottle for a minute or two. It was pleasantly tannic. After being exposed to the air for about 20 minutes, the tannins softened, and the wine tasted wonderful. It has a bit of acidity, a bit of tannin, and enough body to eat with a steak. The aroma adds to the mix, making it a more complex wine than I usually drink. I’d definitely drink this again. It was a gift, so I’m not going to look up the price, but let’s just say it’s not our usual $6 swill.

Grapes: Blend: 81% Cabernet Sauvignon, 9% Petit Verdot, 5% Malbec, 3% Merlot, 2% Cabernet Franc

I love to hear your comments!

