A Favorite Designer: Coco Chanel

“A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.” – Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel

Coco Chanel is one of my fashion icons. I love the elegant yet livable clothing she designed, including the little black dress and women’s suits. My strands of fake pearls worn all at once with a black knit sweater and skirt are my homage to her style. I don’t own a Chanel suit but fantasize about finding one in a a Paris flea market. In the meantime, an occasional spray of Chanel No. 5 will have to do.

I really like this portrait of Mademoiselle Chanel; she’s so elegant. I always think of her clothing as black and cream, but as some of the photos below illustrate, she did use prints and color. The last photograph is a photograph inside her apartment in the Ritz Hotel in Paris. My sweetie and I couldn’t even get in the door without a white-gloved “non” from the security person.

Covo Chanel. Image from MINT Museum.

Wool knit dress circa 1924. Image from Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Evening dress circa 1930. Image from Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Evening dress, circa 1939. Image from Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Cocktail suit, circa 1964. Image from Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Appartement de Coco Chanel au Ritz : livre et lunettes. Image by François Kollar. Image courtesy of http://www.culture.gouv.fr/

One thought on “A Favorite Designer: Coco Chanel

I love to hear your comments!

