Movie Star Crushs

I saw Antonio Banderas on the cover of AARP recently, which made me think of the movie star/rock star crushes I’ve had over the years. Movie star crushes are funny – they’re harmless, sometimes inexplicable, absolute fantasy, and very entertaining. Here are some of my crushes through the years. Who have your crushes been?

1970s
Bobby Sherman

Bobby Sherman

David Cassidy – Yes, those of us of a certain age likely had a mad crush on David in the Partridge Family series.

David Cassidy

1980s
Tom Selleck

Tom Selleck

Tom Selleck

Erik Estrada – Don’t laugh. He was cute…

Erik Estrada

James Earl Jones – The voice, oh the voice. So velvety, deep, and masculine.

1990s

George Clooney – I still have a crush on him. I think he’s even better looking today.

2000s

Johhny Depp – Cute, and he makes me laugh.

Current Decade

Jim Morrison – I saw a documentary about him recently. He had that magnetism, body movement, and voice.

Marcello Mastroianni – I’ve watched almost all of Fellini’s movies in the past few years and love Marcello’s accent. And in this photo, he comes with a plate of spaghetti and a bottle of chianti. What’s not to like? (And since this is my fantasy, that’s not a real cigarette.)

Sophia Loren – Not exactly a crush… Again, the Italian accent. Her eyes are beautiful, and she’s so womanly. I could watch her on the screen for hours.

So, who were your crushes through the years?

3 thoughts on “Movie Star Crushs

  1. Apart from the first two, I’m pretty much with you! My first crush was Robert Vaughn in The Man from U.N.C.L.E.
    I’d like to add Andy Garcia and anyone with a Scottish accent.

  2. I love hearing about your crushes. Most of my friend’s match your early ones exactly. I never thought much about actors. I just loved anyone who sang to me in Spanish, no matter what else they were famous for. I couldn’t believe it when my husband picked up my Oscar De La Hoya CD and told me he was mainly a boxer.

I love to hear your comments!

