Fall Trends 2012 – Elie Saab Elegance

Halle dressed in Elie Saab

My favorite collections include Elie Saab, Miu Miu, and Gucci. Today I’m focusing on Mr. Saab’s fall designs. Tomorrow,  I’ll review my favorite Italian designs from Gucci and Miu Miu. For a look at Donna Karan and Michael Kors, see Catherine G.’s post at Inside-Out.

Elie Saab

Elie Saab is a Lebanese designer based in Beirut with boutiques in Milan and Paris. He  opened his fashion house in Beirut in 1982 but his first show outside Lebanon was in Milan in 1997. He designed the beautiful gown Halle Berry wore to the 2002 Oscars – see photo below. What I like about his collection this fall are the simple lines, monochromatic color, and beautiful drape of the clothes. The deep plum dress is so pretty; the color is deep and luxurious. The grey dress is my favorite- it’s such an elegant, well designed piece. The long print dress is feminine and surprisingly sophisticated for a print. I’m not fond of prints but I do like this.

Photo of Ms. Berry from L.A. Times; other photos from Style.com

I love to hear your comments!

