Fashion Fall 2011 – Trends I Like

Fall fashions are my favorites- I like the colors, the fabrics, and the sense of getting back in focus, back to school or work, or rentrée at the French say (reentry). My next few posts will review trends I like, my favorite collections this season, and my least favorite fashions. I’m collaborating with Catherine G. at Inside-Out, and encourage you to look at her Fall Trends post for more on lace, menswear, and white collared dresses.

After a review of the September issues of Vogue, Flair (Italian), More, Real Simple, and the August British Vogue, as well as the Italian and French Vogue websites, I’ve spotted some trends I really like. The fall “look” is not just one look – there’s a range from the dominatrix in black look to lady-like in jewel tones look to masculine trousers and oxfords look. I think there’s something for everyone once the basic ideas get filtered down to Zara and H&M or the clearance racks in a few months. I look at the collections as inspiration and art, not pieces I’d necessarily wear.

My favorite trend is the midi skirt. As I’ve written before, I don’t like wearing skirts above my knees. The midi is great- it’s work appropriate as long as it doesn’t have a thigh high slit, one needn’t wear pantyhose, and it looks grown up. The variety of shapes shown on the runways was great. There were lots of pencil skirts, some flared (gored?) skirts, and some with interesting fits. I don’t like the ones with too much fabric or those verging on looking like those old fashioned dirndl skirts that flatter no one. I’m glad there is a choice other than short skirts or maxi skirts, which get caught in my office chair’s wheels or trips me while walking up the stairs. Speaking of walking up the stairs, the Donna Karan pencil looks great but it’s so slim it might be hard to quickly navigate the stairs without tiny little mincing steps. I couldn’t tell what kind of slit it had in back. A few examples I like below are skirts designed by Jonathan Saunders (cobalt), Gucci (rust), Roland Mouret (black), and Donna Karan (beige).

The colors from the fall collections I liked best are plum and its variations, claret and garnet, deep blues, and rust. Saffron* and emerald green were also used a lot. There are some wonderful neutrals, too – see Catherine G’s blogpost here for examples of pretty blush clothes and accessories. The rich purples and rusts in the first photo below are sumptuous. I could add a rust scarf to my plum sweater and a tweed skirt to have a similar effect. Céline’s saffron* cocoon coat would sure brighten up Portland’s grey winter days. The deep blue Versace is so beautiful and not at all what I think of when I hear “Versace.” The Gucci plum (mulberry?) dress is a pink I’d actually wear.

*The spice saffron actually consist of reddish-orange strands; once it’s heated and added to water it turns this yellow color.

Another trend I really like is the variety of shoes in the mid-heel and flat range. Both ballerina flats and brogues (also referred to as oxfords and richelieus) are still going strong. I’m long past the time in my life when towering high heels seem like a good idea, and comfort and the ability to walk 10 blocks in any shoes I buy are requirements. Not that I could buy these shoes but when the styles filter down to real life brands, it’ll be nice to have more choices than stiletto high heels or wedge high heels or ugly “comfort” shoes. Below are shoes I like for real life, from left to right: Miu Miu spectator Mary Janes, Maloles booties, Miu Miu cherry red Mary Janes, and Fendi wide heeled pumps. The oxfords are from Phillip Lim (cheetah) and John Fluevog. I can imagine wearing these with a slim pencil skirt and v-neck sweater.

My next post will focus on Miu Miu and Elie Saab, and Catherine’s post will focus on Donna Karan and Michael Kors.

I used photographs from Style.com, HarpersBazaar.com, and Vogue.uk.com and designer’s websites.

2 thoughts on “Fashion Fall 2011 – Trends I Like

  1. We’re just heading in for summer here, but these clothes have me looking forward to next year! And I don’t like above the knee skirts either – my knees shouldn’t been seen by the wider world anymore.

    • So Fashion Week is actually relevant down under because they’re showing spring/summer fashions? But it takes time to get them on the shelves. It’s chilly here from October through May so it’s annoying when summer clothes are the only thing in the stores!

I love to hear your comments!

