Old treasures and Frida Kahlo

My dad gave me this wonderful pair of earrings years ago that he brought back from South America. (I can’t recall if it was Uruguay, Paraguay, or Bolivia?) I’ve worn these earrings hundreds of times; they’re still one of my favorite pairs.  I don’t think we ever figured out what the large red bead is made of but it’s a beautiful true red. The little silver birds add a rustic touch. I never polish them because I think they look nice with a dark patina.

earrings

Frida Kahlo had a great way of adorning herself with jewelry, and these earrings remind me of something she’d wear. I admire her style, including her red lipstick. Her whole look was so artistic and so individual. The photos below illustrate her style. Both photos are from the George Eastman House.

Frida Kahlo

Another photo of Frida

One thought on “Old treasures and Frida Kahlo

I love to hear your comments!

