Still Lifes with Shoe Clips

Or should that be Still Lives?

I thought it might be fun to create still lifes with some of my shoe clips. I tried a few different backgrounds – our wooden end table, our resin table with rocks, and a red scarf but none of them seemed very interesting. I picked up one of my books for inspiration and had an “aha” moment – I’ll use the illustrations in the book for the background! Here are the results of my experiment.

Brown and gold shoe clips

Black and silver shoe clips

The book is the 1928 book Paris Salons, Cafés, Studios by Sisley Huddleston. The author wrote vignettes about life in Paris in the early part of the twentieth century, ranging from the Shakespeare & Co. bookstore to notable French women to morbidity and snobbery. Though only a few of the shoe clips illustrated are from this period, I decided artistic license was more important.

One thought on “Still Lifes with Shoe Clips

I love to hear your comments!

