Philly food stop – Five Guys Burgers and Fries

Todd had just read an article about Five Guys in a flight magazine, and when we saw one on Walnut Street we had to try it. The décor is industrial white tiles with red accents. The menu is pretty basic – burgers, hot dogs, a few sandwiches, beverages, and fries. No salads, no fish or chicken, no milk shakes. The music was fun for those of us of a certain age; we heard I Shot The Sheriff (Clapton’s version) and Time of the Season by the Zombies .

I ordered a plain hamburger with just some mayo, which was really good. The meat was not in a pretty round patty but looked like real meat patted together with real hands, not a machine. The fries were great – crispy, just a little bit salty, and tasty. They’re fried in peanut oil which probably what makes them so good. They have malt vinegar as an option – yum! The calories and saturated fat were unhealthy but it’s the kind of food that I just want to indulge in once in a while. I didn’t realize till I got home that there’s on in Beaverton, but I prefer to remember it as one of my Philly foodie stops. I’ll always love Burgerville but for a tasty burger and fries that don’t share their oil with fish, crab or other seafood, Five Guys is awesome!

Photo by Todd Mecklem


Photo by Todd Mecklem

2 thoughts on “Philly food stop – Five Guys Burgers and Fries

  1. Sorry but I had to laugh that you went all the way to Philly to eat at Five Guys! I’ve been to the one in PDX and thought it was a local thing- I guess not!

I love to hear your comments!

