But where was the fancy jewelry?

The Duchess of Cambridge wore a beautiful gown at her wedding to Prince William. I thought the lace sleeves and overlay and fitted shape were very flattering and beautiful. The Royal’s website has more information about the handmade lace and more  details about the dress.

I was surprised to see how little jewelry Catherine wore. She wore a pair of small but pretty earrings from her parents, and her ring. I didn’t notice any other jewelry. Maybe it’s a British thing – too much  sparkle may be déclassé. Princess Diana didn’t wear much jewelry on her wedding day, either.

Antique citrine parure sold at Christie's

If I were a duchess, or even very wealthy, I’d buy the jewels first and then design the dress. I’ve always wanted a full parure, or matching set, of jewelry. In my case, a rhinestone parure would be perfectly lovely. Parures were popular among royalty and the wealthy in the 17th century. They were often created with the idea that the stones could be interchanged – rubies one evening, emeralds the next.

This citrine parure was sold at auction in London in 1999. Christie’s website notes that it consists of “a diadem, necklace, detachable brooch pendant with three detachable drops, a pair of bracelets with a detachable central section to form a choker, and a pair of pendant ear clips.” I had to look up “diadem” – it’s a crown of sorts. I think everything at once might be overkill, but the diadem, necklace, a bracelet, and earrings would look very pretty with a plain outfit.

In the world of vintage costume jewelry, a parure consists of at least three pieces of matching jewelry, for example a necklace, a bracelet, and a pair of earrings. More common is a demi-parure, which is two pieces, often earrings and a brooch. I’ve selected two of my favorite vintage demi-parures to show you.

Aurora Borealis Demi-parure

Vintage rhinestone demi-parure

I love to hear your comments!

