Cotes-du-Ventoux Vidal-Fleury

Cotes du Ventoux

J. Vidal-Fleury 2005 Cotes-du-Ventoux

$7.59 (Fred Meyer) – regular price about $10

I really liked this wine. In the glass, it’s a deep rusty burgundy color. Its aroma was that of ripe fruit, with a bit of banana. It had just a little bit of tannin, and a tasty medium finish with a salty after taste. I read in DK’s French Wine that the Cotes Du Ventoux are located on limestone- maybe that explains the minerally/salty flavor? I really liked it. I also tried this wine with a cow’s milk cheese, Fleur D’Aunis. It’s even tastier together! I’m going to stash a couple of bottles to take to dinner parties.

I love to hear your comments!

