Il Gattopardo

Il Gattopardo Nero D'Avola

Il Gattopardo lo scuro

Wine Name: Il Gattopardo (Lo scuro)

Origin: Italy (Sicily)

Grapes: Nero D’Avola

Cost: $7.00

My thoughts: The aroma of this wine was very strong – I first noticed its aroma when I walked by the glass Todd had poured for me. It had slight oak undertones, with stronger scent of chocolate and flowers. The taste was good, with a bit of tannin, and a spicy finish. It’s a bit dry, and went really well with my dinner, which was artichoke cheese ravioli from Pastaworks with garlic and olive oil.

I liked the name of this wine, Il Gattopardo, which reminds me of Luchino Visconti’s 1963 movie of the same name. It’s a wonderful period piece that shows the decline of the aristocracy and the uprise of the bourgeoisie. Gattopardo means leopard in Italian.

I love to hear your comments!

